Welcome to Policy Review TV - to access more content or redeem your conference voucher.

Environment 2010
24 Nov 2010
The Environment Agency National Conference: Creating a better place, a sustainable future. To be held at Central Hall, Westminster

This year’s annual conference will focus on the state of our environment - from water to waste, farming to flooding. Experts from the UK and abroad will assess how we can best mitigate or adapt to our changing climate.

Paul Leinster CBE, Chief Executive, Environment Agency

Jane Davidson AM, Minister for Environment, Sustainability and Housing, Welsh Assembly Government Chief Executive

Roger Harrabin, BBC Environment Analyst
Conference Chair’s opening remarks

Rt Hon. Lord Smith of Finsbury, Chairman, Environment Agency
Welcome and introduction

Rt Hon. Caroline Spelman MP, Secretary of State, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Keynote address

Jane Davidson AM Minister for Environment, Sustainability and Housing, Welsh Assembly Government Chief Executive
Meeting our environmental commitments

State Of Our Environment QandA
Session 1 State of Our Environment QandA

Paul Leinster CBE, Chief Executive, Environment Agency
Tackling the challenges

Paul Monaghan, Head of Sustainability and Social Goals, The Co-operative
Improving the environment through responsible retail

Session 1 QandA 2 QandA with Paul Leinster and Paul Monaghan
Session 1 QandA

Kanat Emiroglu, Managing Director, British Gas Business Towards a low carbon society
Panel discussion: Driving sustainable, profitable businesses
Mark Elborne, President and Chief Executive Officer, General Electric (GE) UK, Ireland and Benelux Melanie Leech, Director-General, Food and Drink Federation David Whitehead, Director, British Ports Association

Lunch, exhibition and networking
Dr Nick Eyre, Jackson Senior Research Fellow in Energy, Oriel College, University of Oxford and Co-Director of the UK Energy Research Centre
Meeting the low carbon energy challenge

Panel discussion: Meeting the low carbon energy challenge
Paul Cowling, Managing Director, npower Renewables Andrew Simms, Policy Director and Head of Climate Change and Energy, nef Ravi Gurumurthy, Director – Strategy, Department of Energy and Climate Change Solitaire Townsend, Co-Founder, Futerra Sustainability Communications

Graham Wynne, Committee on Climate Change Adaptation Sub-Committee
The challenges of a changing climate

Panel discussion: Adaptation
Peter Kendall, President, National Farmers Union Julia Evans, Chief Executive, National Federation of Builders Dr Mark Howden, Chief Research Scientist and Theme Leader, Adaptive Primary Industries and Enterprises, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

Refreshments, exhibition and networking
Interactive debate 1: Adapting to climate change
Chair: Sonia Phippard, Director, Water, Floods, Environmental Risk & Regulation, Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs Cllr Gary Porter, Chairman, LGA Environment Board Lisa Horrocks, Knowledge Leader in Climate Risk and Adaptation, AEA Robert Barker, Founding Partner, Baca Architects Pat Boyle, PWS Assurance Manager, Met Office

Interactive debate 2: Meeting our water quality targets
Chair: Ian Barker, Head of Water, Environment Agency Dr Mike Clarke, Chief Executive, RSPB Richard Aylard CVO, External Affairs and Sustainability Director, Thames Water Peter Kendall, President, National Farmers’ Union

Interactive debate 3: E-waste
Chair: Ed Mitchell, Director of Environment and Business, Environment Agency Michael Warhurst, Senior Waste and Resources Campaigner, Friends of the Earth Gerrard Fisher, Programme Manager – Sustainable Products, WRAP Andy Griffiths, Vice President, Samsung Electronics UK

Interactive debate 4: ENVIRONMENTAGENCY
Chair: DECC Stewart Baseley, Executive Chairman, Home Builders’ Federation John Wood, President, Institution of Mechanical Engineers David Balmforth, Vice President, ICE Andrew Simms, Policy Director and Head of Climate Change and Energy, nef

Interactive debate 5: Cleaner energy (coal/Renewables)
Chair: Tony Grayling, Head of Climate Change and Sustainable Development, Environment Agency Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Chair, Associate Parliamentary Renewable and Sustainable Energy Group James P Leape, Director General, WWF Dr Jim Watson, Director, The Sussex Energy Group, University of Sussex

Rt Rev James Jones, Bishop of Liverpool
Protecting our environment in a changing world

Lisa Jackson, Administrator, US Environmental Protection Agency
Closing lecture: Protecting our environment in a changing world

Chair's closing remarks, Lord Chris Smith Chairman, Environment Agency
Closing remarks

Environment Agency Environmental Pioneers Award and Reception
Guest speaker: Rt Hon. Chris Huhne MP, Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change

Awards ceremony
Post Awards Reaction